Any Ramon Llull

To celebrate the 700th anniversary of the death of Blessed Ramon Llull with all the dignity he deserves, the Bishop of Majorca has proclaimed a commemorative year from November 27, 2015 to November 27, 2016 in praise of the greatest son of this land, and to the memory and teaching that have endured throughout the intervening centuries.

The bishop has set up two commissions to organise and coordinate this commemoration: the Academic Commission and the Diocesan Commission.

The Academic Commission was established by Bishop Jesus Murgui Soriano on 24 January, 2012, and is composed of all the university institutions and organisations studying the figure and work of Llull today:

  • Maioricensis Schola Lullistica (Palma de Majorca, Spain).
  • Ramon Llull Chair (Balearic Islands University, Spain).
  • Llull Archaeological Society (Palma de Majorca, Spain).
  • Majorca Centre for Theological Studies (Palma de Majorca, Spain).
  • Ramon Llull Documentation Centre (Barcelona University, Spain).
  • Archivium Lullianum (Autonomous University of Barcelona, Spain).
  • Faculty of Theology of Catalonia (Barcelona, Spain).
  • Faculty of Philosophy of Catalonia (Ramon Llull University, Barcelona, Spain).
  • Interuniversity Institute of Valencian Philology (Valencia, Spain).
  • Ramon Llull Institute (Freiburg i.B. University, Germany).
  • EW Platzeck Italian Centre for Llull (Pontifical University Antonianum, Rome, Italy).
  • International Society for Mediaeval Study of Latin (Florence, Italy).
  • Mediaeval Studies Workshop (Palermo University, Italy).
  • Felix Research Group, National University of Distance Education (Madrid, Spain).
  • Ramon Llull Brazilian Institute of Philosophy and Science (Sao Paulo, Brazil).

The secretary of the commission is Mayor Dr Josep Amengual i Batle, whose focus is organising the two scientific conferences in honour of the figure of Llull: the first is in Palma, on November 2015, and coincides with the start of the centenary year; while the second is in Barcelona in November 2106, to coincide with the end of the centenary year. In addition, he will coordinate the publication of the congressional proceedings, as well as other scientific and academic activities.

The Diocesan Commission, for its part, was established by Bishop Murgui on May 28, 2012, and includes representatives of the diocesan institutions and individuals selected in a personal capacity. The secretary of this commission is Mgr Nadal Bernat i Salas. The Diocesan Commission has established objectives and different areas of work, which will be achieved by a number of activities during the anniversary year. Among the objectives is the need to promote and popularise the figure of Ramon Llull among the younger generation, and to maintain the feast day and devotion of Ramon Llull after the celebrations are over. The activities are threefold: those of a religious and spiritual nature, educational and training, and artistic and commemorative.

Apart from designing the anniversary logo, the first fruit of the commission’s work was the Invitation Letter. Written as a call to the whole Church and to society in general to be ready for the great commemoration, 10,000 copies of the Invitation Letter have been published in Catalan, as well as another 7,000 in both Catalan and one of Castilian Spanish, English, German, French, Italian or Portuguese. Following an intense process of diffusion, almost all these letters have now been sent out.